Lettuce Wrap Chicken Tacos

I recently graduated from college and returned home to live with my parents until I can save up enough money for my own place. Until then, I will be enjoying my mother’s delicious dinners.

My family always tries to improve their overall health through healthy eating and exercise. We all grew up playing sports and my parents are still quite active.

LinkFitFam.

My mom recently introduced the family to her Lettuce Wrap Chicken Tacos. One of my old teammates had a gluten allergy so she always ate her tacos, burgers, etc. in a lettuce wrap. When I first saw it, I thought it was a bit weird as I could not imagine enjoying a burger or taco without the roll or tortilla. But after giving it a try I have to say it is amazing. The crunch of the lettuce wrap is something you do not normally experience while eating tacos so it was an interesting twist.

I highly recommend trying out these Lettuce Wrap Chicken Tacos for a healthy twist on your dinner.

 

Ingredients:

2 boneless/skinless chicken breasts (butterflied)

2 cups of chicken broth

2 teaspoons chili powder

2 teaspoons salt

1 teaspoon cumin

½ teaspoon coriander

¼ teaspoon cayenne

2 tbsp lime juice

12 artisan romaine lettuce leafs (any lettuce that has small “cup” form will work)

Extras:

  • Sour cream
  • Fresh pico de gallo
  • Black beans
  • Shredded cheese
  • Avocado

 

Instructions:

  1. Add the chicken, chicken broth, lime juice, salt and spices to a small/medium sauce pan. Make sure that the liquid covers the chicken. Bring to a boil and then simmer for approx. 10 minutes.
  2. Shred the chicken with two forks.
  • You can add it back to the liquid so it can absorb some of the broth throughout all the shreds.
  1. Assemble your lettuce tacos: lettuce, sour cream, pico de gallo, black beans and cheese.
  2. Enjoy!

 

IMG_4315

 

Leave a Reply

