Day 18: When Was the Last Time You Tried Something New?

Trying new things is a great way to learn and experience a variety of aspects in a particular setting. While dealing with my current medical situation, I have tried new things to keep myself occupied. Three things that I have recently started are knitting, string art, and crafting.Placeholder Image

Knitting came out of nowhere. One day I was sitting on the couch with my mom and randomly decided that I was going to teach myself how to knit. I wanted to learn how to knit scarves, hats, blankets, etc. The next day I went to the store and bought my first set of knitting needles and some yarn. I began watching videos on how to knit different stitches and after multiple tries I figured it out!

I have arm knit two blankets and want to try making a scarf next. I also would like to try crotchet because I heard it is very easy to pick up.

I had discovered string art on Pinterest and thought some of the finished pieces were incredible. I decided I was going to make one of a guitar for my good friend and a buck head for my boyfriend. I read one “How To” and picked it up easily. It was fun to see the pattern forming.

My suggestion when starting a string art project is to make sure you have enough nails and string ahead of time. I had to stop the project multiple times because I ran out of string or nails!

Crafting ideas can be found all over the internet and I tend to look on Pinterest for different ideas. It is an awesome feeling when something turns out nice. Crafting can also be a great way to make money!

One can try new things or get inspirations/ideas off other people and use it to make something they love. Crafting gives people the opportunity to show something about themselves through a small piece of art.

Although all three of these are not health and fitness related it is still a new experience! It exciting and rewarding to branch out of your comfort zone and try new things.

There are always new variations of exercises to try or different meals to make. Branch out and try new things!

Leave a Reply

