Day 6: Three Healthy Habits

Drink more water

I feel like the past couple posts have mentioned how important it is to drink enough water throughout the day. Dehydration symptoms include increased thirst, weakness, dizziness, confusion, sluggishness, and fainting. As I mentioned in my Importance of Hydration post, checking your urine color will give you an indication of your hydration levels. My last post stated, my goal is to drink more water. Water is the body’s principal chemical component. Water flushes toxins out of vital organs, carries nutrients to cells, and provides a moist environment for ear, nose, and throat tissues. Drinking only water may become boring for some people; in this case, I suggest adding some lemon or other flavors to your water for a different taste.

Get 7-8 hours of sleep6393-200

Not sleeping enough could lead to health issues and make it a lot more difficult for someone to go about their day. If I do not get enough sleep, I lack the energy I need to get through a tough workout or other vigorous activities throughout my day. If I am lacking energy, I could end up getting hurt or switching/skipping my workout that day which will only hinder my improvement. Researchers conducted a study over 25 years, covering more than 1.3 million people and more than 100,000 deaths. They found that those who generally slept for less than six hours a night were 12% more likely to experience a premature death. People who slept more than eight to nine hours per night had an even higher risk, at 30%. Getting enough sleep, but not too much, is important not only for your health but your ability to complete your daily activities properly.

Set aside time for relaxation/meditation

Setting aside time for relaxation is a very important aspect of my day. I have come across people who over-think every aspect of their life. They analyze every little detail and this tends to send them into a downward spiral of questions. I’ll admit I have previously had times where I think too much into something very minor and miniscule. To avoid falling into the over-thinking trap, I like to set aside time for relaxation. Whether it is in the morning when I wake up, right before I go to bed or during a free period during my day, I allow myself to sit/lay quietly and try to clear my head. It helps to practice guided meditation/imagery to allow myself to truly go deeper and wash my worries away. This can also be done in the shower. As the water runs down my back, I think of it as any problems, insecurities, or negative thoughts washing down the drain. Setting aside time for relaxation/meditation also allows me to relieve stress. If I am stressing over school, work, etc. I give myself the opportunity to sit down, relax my shoulders, and just breathe. I tend to carry all of my stress in my upper back and shoulders and will find myself pulling my shoulders up when I am stressed out. So to relieve this, I sit down and roll my shoulders and push them down to stretch out my neck and upper back. Simply rolling my shoulders down gives me a second to relax. Extreme stressing can hinder my ability to efficiently and effectively complete a task. When I relax, I am able to take a break to reset myself and continue to go about my day/tasks.

 

One thought on “Day 6: Three Healthy Habits

Leave a Reply

